Do you spend more time thinking about the future or the past? Why?
I definitely spend more time thinking about the future, and I think it just comes from my control issues/anxiety. I find myself worrying about worst case scenarios sometimes, and I just have to redirect myself to the present and be grateful for the life I have today. I also have to trust that I can handle whatever challenges life brings.
I went to one community college and got my associates degree and then stopped as I needed to work full time to pay bills being out on my own. I paid for my degree outright with no loans! So proud of that.
Do you play in your daily life? What says “playtime” to you?
When I am dancing and singing around the house, I consider that to be playtime. I love just being goofy and enjoying good music. I also love when I can do some vision boarding/collages as I feel like I’m in elementary school again! This year I started a journal that way I can fill the pages with visions and goals throughout the year!
I feel nostalgic whenever I go to a roller rink or when I hear some early 2000s Outkast and Black Eyed Peas. Also we had disposable cameras at our Til Death Do Us Party, and that gave me such a sense of nostalgia.
My goals of healthy living align with my future self because I want to be able to travel and hike and keep up with my future children. I also want to have more healthy food options around for my future children, so they don’t struggle like I do with my lack of palette.
I have been avoiding taking responsibility towards actually working on my goals. I’ve been wasting time on mindless TV when I can reading/learning. I did take a break off social media, and I’m gonna continue that into the new year so I can focus on my true goals and stop mindless scrolling.
I am calling in confidence and consistency. I am focusing on my goals and how to make them fun. I am focusing on all of the joys in every day life. I am calling in peaceful energy, and I’m letting go of anxieties about things beyond my control.
I’d say one of my biggest challenges is getting into healthy routines like working out and cooking. I never grew up eating super healthy or watching anyone prioritize health, wellness or the importance of movement. It’s something I want to do, and I have slowly been working towards.
Part of the reason this is a challenge is due to another issue I struggle with: lack of self trust. I am someone who feels better when I am in control, and I am someone who can be very hard on myself. With those things being said, I have definitely taken a diet a little too seriously in the past, and it was very unhealthy. I was losing weight and seeing results, and people around me were commenting and encouraging me- but in reality I was barely taking in 800 calories a day, and I was extremely strict with myself.
I know that if I want to be healthy, it has to be a lifestyle that I live. It can’t be something that I am tracking and counting; it can’t come from me shaming myself, it has to come from love. I want to love myself and my body enough to feed it the nutrients it truly needs and to workout regularly. I also want to trust myself to be able to make a change without becoming obsessed. Luckily I am still in therapy, and I get to see my therapist on Friday so we can discuss the goals for this new year.
I’m back to work today and then off again for a couple days, but I’m just happy to be feeling relatively healthy again! Still have some sinus congestion, but overall just feeling so much better. Also SZA dropped SOS Deluxe LANA album so I’ve been jamming to that nonstop and just enjoying the rest of 2024!